Choosing a college major

Ever since last year's summer, I've been thinking about college majors, and what should I choose (I'm a senior high school student). Some things I liked (i.e. Biology and English), after doing some searching and asking, found out that they had very limited jobs here(that I don't want/like). Add to that, my parents have been pressuring me (without them realizing it) to choose a major, saying it "shouldn't be that hard", but it's not a candy you pick out of the candy store, is it? Recently, I've been thinking about choosing human resources, as it's one of the few things that seem acceptable/likable for me, but even for that I'm not 100% sure. What adds to the pressure, is that I'm finishing high school pretty soon hopefully (have my last final on 1st of June).

So, do/did you fellow Smogoners have problems with choosing a college major?

I didn't have any trouble at all. If you know there's a "thing" that you enjoy AND are good at, then that's your answer right there. For me, it was art so that's why I went to art school. In particular, I majored in Illustration because that's a specific area of art where I fit in best.

I graduate from college tomorrow morning so I have 4 years worth of advice to give you.

Basically, it's not wrong to follow your heart. If you like Biology or English, you chose them for specific reasons over other majors like Business or Economics. So think about why you like about those fields.

But even if you haven't decided now, don't worry. You're not even done with high school yet and most colleges don't force you to declare a major until second semester. So you have a full summer ahead of you as well as your first semester of real college experience. A lot could happen to you by then and a decision you make now could very well change in the future.

I didn't have any trouble either. I was pretty certain I wanted to learn more about programming, and eventually get a job in the industry - the choice of CS was clear.